Back to SFTA Home Page
Bio and FAQ
Legalities and such
Song For The Asking is a public fan site for information on Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel. Site design and maintenance by R. D. Riet. Design Copyright (c) 1997-1999 RR.Web/Random Duck Design. All rights reserved.
Song For The Asking
ROIO - Recordings Of Illegitimate Origin

Title Jones Beach 1999
Label unknown
Catalog Number unknown
Source Live at Jones Beach Amphitheater, Wantagh, NY, 30 July 1999. Audience recording.
Performers Paul Simon - guitar, vocals
Mark Stewart - guitar, cello, mandolin
Vincent Nguini - guitar
Bakithi Kumalo - bass
Chris Botti - trumpet
Jay Ashby - trombone
Andy Snitzer - saxophone
Tony Cedras - keyboards
Alain Mallet - keyboards
Steve Gadd - drums
Jamey Haddad - percussion
Steve Shehan - percussion
- Dylan's band:
Charlie Sexton - guitar
Larry Campbell - guitars, fiddle, mandolin (others)
Quality EX-/8.5
- Paul Simon -
1. Bridge Over Troubled Water
2. Can't Run But
3. The Boy in the Bubble
4. The Coast
5. Trailways Bus
6. Mrs. Robinson
7. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
8. Further to Fly
9. Graceland
10. The Cool, Cool River
11. Slip Slidin' Away
12. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
13. You Can Call Me Al
14. Late In The Evening
15. Still Crazy After All These Years

- duets -
1. Sounds Of Silence (Bob on harp)
2. I Walk The Line (Larry on fiddle)
3. The Wanderer (Larry on fiddle)
4. Knockin' On Heaven's Door

- Bob Dylan -
1. Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie (acoustic)
2. Mr. Tambourine Man (acoustic)
3. Desolation Row (acoustic)
4. Girl Of The North Country (acoustic)
5. Tangled Up In Blue (acoustic)
6. All Along The Watchtower
7. Shelter From The Storm
8. Maggie's Farm
9. Not Dark Yet
10. Highway 61 Revisited
11. Like A Rolling Stone
12. It Ain't Me Babe (acoustic - with harp)
13. Not Fade Away
This was the first show of a two-night stand at the Jones Beach Amphitheater, with Simon opening for Dylan.

At this point, the tour had been going strong for almost two months, and many of the kinks (if any) from the early shows had been smoothed out. However, the tour was starting to be a drag for Simon (as he admitted in May 2000), and he was, more-or-less, going through the motions during his set.

Not that this road-weary nature was too evident to my eyes, this being the PaulBob show that I attended. As Simon is a consummate professional, he tried to put up an upbeat front. As the show started, he talked to a luck individual on a cell phone, then segued into "Bridge Over Troubled Water." The rest of Simon's set went very well, although the segue from "Me And Julio" to "Further To Fly" was a bit jarring and broke the party-like mood for a short while. The overall mood was laid-back but fun, with "Still Crazy" acting as a mellow closer to Paul's set.

Dylan's set was a nice contrast to Simon's. Where Paul was more mellow in his approach, Bob attacked with joy and energy. Dylan's tight band provided a wonderful musical bed for his unique vocal delivery. As noted in the review of the Denver ROIO, Dylan sings in a much more legible style than in years past.

The sound quality of this 3-disc set, while distant, is quite clean, with only small bursts of annoying audience noise. However, a better quality recording of this show exists, mastered from the "F.O.H." (front-of-house) mixing board. Thusfar, this better recording has not surfaced in the ROIO seller's channel.

Back to the Simon & Garfunkel ROIO Page