Back to SFTA Home Page
Bio and FAQ
Legalities and such
Song For The Asking is a public fan site for information on Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel. Site design and maintenance by R. D. Riet. Design Copyright (c) 1997-1999 RR.Web/Random Duck Design. All rights reserved.
Song For The Asking
ROIO - Recordings Of Illegitimate Origin

Title Old Friends
Label Fingerprint
Catalog Number 002 ACD/OSA
Source Live at the Paramount Theatre, New York City, 23 October 1993 and live at Mountain View Amphitheater, 6 November 1993. Audience recording.
Performers Paul Simon - guitar, vocals
Art Garfunkel - vocals
Craig Doerge - piano
Steve Gadd - drums
Vincent Nguini - guitar
Armand Sabal-Lecoo - bass
Tony Cedras - keyboards
Ray Phiri - guitar
John Selolwane - guitar
Mingo Araujo - percussion
Chris Botti - trumpet
Barney Rachabane - alto sax
Julie Water - vocals
Michael Brecker - sax and EWI
Phoebe Snow - vocals
Mighty Clouds Of Joy - vocals
Ladysmith Black Mombazo - vocals
Urubamba - winds and percussion
Quality EX-/8.5
Simon & Garfunkel:
1. America
2. Homeward Bound
3. We Belong Together
4. Black Slacks
5. Be-Bop-A-Lula
6. Hey, Schoolgirl
7. Mrs. Robinson
8. El Condor Pasa
9. Scarborough Fair
10. Bridge Over Troubled Water
11. Cecilia
12. Kathy's Song
13. The Sound Of Silence
14. Old Friends
15. The Boxer (from The Bridge School Concert)
16. The 59th Street Bridge Song (from The Bridge School Concert)

Paul Simon:
1. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
2. 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover
3. Late In The Evening
4. Hearts And Bones
5. The Boy In The Bubble
6. Graceland
7. She Moves On
8. The Cool, Cool River
9. Homeless (with Ladysmith Black Mambazo)
10. Alphabet Song (Ladysmith Black Mambazo solo)
11. Put Down the Duckie (Ladysmith Black Mambazo solo)
12. Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes (with Ladysmith Black Mambazo)
13. Proof
14. Further To Fly
15. You Can Call Me Al
Total Time 57:28
From "The Concert Event of a Lifetime - the Music of Simon & Garfunkel and Paul Simon" shows of 1993, this two-CD set features what was, essentailly, the full running set for these shows. To me, this was the ultimate Paul Simon concert: all of his career (through 1993) was covered. The band was hot, the guests were top-notch, and the energy was high. Garfunkel was a super highlight to the show, adding beautiful harmonies to the old favourites. Two songs are included from the Bridge School Concert of 1993 to showcase two more S&G songs.

The quality of this recording isn't the best, but it's quite listenable. However, the main selling point of this set is the full setlist of the 1993 show. While I wouldn't rate this as a "must-buy," it's a great addition to any collection.

Back to the Simon & Garfunkel ROIO Page